Day September 8, 2023

Costiera Amalfitana Facts History

Atrani Amalfi Coast Italy Costiera Amalfitana
The Costiera Amalfitana, which runs along the southern coast of the Sorrentine Peninsula within the Salerno province, can rightfully be described as a landscape of exceptional cultural significance, shaped by the remarkable interplay of nature and human endeavor. Its dramatic topography and historical evolution have given rise to extraordinary cultural and natural scenic values. Here, nature remains untamed yet seamlessly interwoven with the fruits of human labor. The landscape is characterized by rocky terrain, lush woodlands, and aromatic maquis, punctuated by citrus groves and vineyards ingeniously cultivated wherever suitable terrain could be found. The World Heritage property encompasses four principal coastal areas (Amalfi, Atrani, Reginna Maior, and Reginna Minor) and several secondary areas (Positano, Praiano, Cetara, and Erchie), each graced with characterful villages like Scala, Tramonti, and Ravello, as well as the hamlets of Conca and Furore. Many of these historic centers thrived during the zenith of the Amalfi Sea Republic, resulting in a wealth of artistic and architectural treasures.