Tag State of Mexico

The State of Mexico is one of the 32 federal entities of the United Mexican States, and the state capital city is Toluca. Encircling Mexico City from three directions, the State of Mexico shares borders with the states of Tlaxcala and Puebla to the east, Morelos and Guerrero to the south, Michoacán to the west, and Querétaro and Hidalgo to the north.

Pre-Hispanic City of Teotihuacan

Pre-Hispanic City of Teotihuacan, Mexico
The pre-Hispanic city of Teotihuacan, nestled in a sub-valley of the Valley of Mexico, specifically in the State of Mexico, is a captivating testament to ancient Mesoamerican civilization. This remarkable site was recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1987. Its history stretches back to around 400 B.C., and it rose to become the region's most influential city by 400 A.D. Despite its significance, the enigmatic origins, history, and culture of Teotihuacan continue to baffle historians. Notably, when the Aztecs encountered the city in the 1400s, they named it Teotihuacan, signifying "the place where the gods were created." By this time, however, the city had been abandoned for many centuries. Teotihuacan's architectural layout adheres to a meticulously designed grid covering approximately 8 square miles. It comprises over 2,000 single-story apartment compounds and features a diverse array of pyramids, plazas, temples, and noble and priestly residences. Here are some historical facts about Teotihuacan: