Naples Italy

Naples City lies on the west coast of the Italian peninsula, 120 miles (190 km) southeast of Rome, in southern Italy, and was a UNESCO World Heritage Site from 1995 onwards.

Where is Naples Italy

Naples is the capital of Campania in southern Italy, and is also known as ancient Neapolis. It was built in c. 600 BCE by refugees from an ancient Greek colony on the northern side of the Bay of Naples, southeast of Rome, and was overrun by the Romans in the 4th century BCE.

Naples passed between the hands of the Byzantines and the Saracens. The city was seized by the Norman rulers of Sicily in the 11th century, and it served as the capital of the Kingdom of the Two Sicilies and the Kingdom of Naples until the 19th century.


In 1860, an expedition led by Giuseppe de Garibaldi invaded it. It was heavily devastated by Allied and German bombardment during World War II, and it was later reconstructed, but it was severely damaged by an earthquake in 1980.

It is a significant economic and cultural hub, as well as a large port with a diverse range of businesses. Medieval castles, cathedrals, and a university are among the city’s attractions.

Naples Italy history

Naples is a large port city in the ancient Mediterranean area, located in southern Italy. Its history dates back to the 9th century B.C., when it was founded as Parthenope or Palaepolis, and later renamed Neapolis (New City) in 470 B.C.


As a result, it is one of Europe’s oldest cities, with a modern urban fabric that maintains a number of notable features from its long and dramatic past.

As evidenced by the street layout, the abundance of ancient buildings and parks, and the survival of many of the city’s civic and social activities. Its stunning location on the Bay of Naples, as well as the historical continuity of its layering.

Historic Centre of Naples

All of the important features that contribute to the justification of the Historic Center of Naples’ Outstanding Universal Value are present in this World Heritage site.


The serial property’s component elements are: (1) the Historical Center of Naples; (2) the District of Villa Manzo; (3) Santa Maria Della Consolazione; (4) Marechiaro; (5) the District of Casale; (6) the District of Santo Strato; and (7) Villa Emma.

Naples Italy history facts

Naples was one of Magna Graecia’s most important cities, and it was instrumental in the transmission of Greek culture to Roman civilization. It later became Civitas Foederata, an important cultural center of the Roman Republic.

The excavated ruins of a Roman theatre, cemeteries, and catacombs, as well as sections of the Greek town walls discovered during WWII, bear witness to this past.


Naples was taken by the Byzantine Empire in the sixth century A.D., becoming an autonomous duchy subsequently affiliated with the Normans, Swabians, and the Sicilian rule.

The churches of San Gennaro extra moenia, San Giorgio Maggiore, and San Giovanni Maggiore are examples of this time. The chapel of Santa Restituta in the 14th-century cathedral, as well as the Castel dell’Ovo, include surviving parts of 4th and 5th-century architecture.

These are one of the most significant Norman relics, despite having been renovated multiple times. Naples became the living emblem of the Angevin dynasty’s pride, dignity, and strength with the Angevin dynasty (1265-1442).


Naples Italy facts

The city grew to encompass the suburbs and surrounding towns. The Angevins also established a strong link with Western art and architecture, notably French Gothic, which they combined with Greek and Arab features.

The churches of Donna Regina and I’lncoronata, San Lorenzo Maggiore, San Domenico Maggiore, and the new Cathedral all come from this time, as do the convents of Santa Chiara and San Lorenzo Maggiore.

The Aragonese ruled Naples from the 15th to the 17th century. They renovated the defenses and street layouts, and built the Castel Nuovo as one of their empire’s most important capitals, mostly in the Tuscan style.


The Royal Palace, erected in 1600 along one side of the majestic Piazza del Plebiscito, the Monte dei Poveri Vergognosi benevolent institution, the monastery of Sant’Agostino degli Scalzi, and the Jesuit College at Capodimonte all commemorate the era of Spanish control.

Naples, along with Paris and London, became one of Europe’s main capital towns under the Bourbons’ rule beginning in 1734. The architectural history of Naples throughout this time period was and continues to be important.

Ads Infolinks

Particularly in the interior architecture of the royal palaces and related aristocratic homes that were part of the territorial system that stretched well beyond the city limits.


The huge palace of Albergo dei Poveri, the National Archaeological Museum, the Certosa of Suor Orsola Benincasa on the hill of San Martino, and the Villa Pignatelli are all important palaces from the 18th century.

Share to stand out from the crowd with this Blog.

Author: Amitava Ray
I'm a photographer (1979) and a blogger (2006). My future photography and blogging endeavors are contingent on the success of Whizzed Net.